HomeGuides :: VirtuosoAdvanced FeaturesDisabling update checks (per workstaton and globally)

7.7. Disabling update checks (per workstaton and globally)

Background

If your site requires elevated permissions to install software to workstations, you may need to use push deployments whenever you update Virtuoso.  In this case, it may be desirable to install the latest update, but not have all users be prompted to install the new version.

Starting in Virtuoso 1.5.189, you can now control the 'check for updates' behavior at the workstation and global level.  If present, the workstation setting overrides the global setting.

Global Configuration

To disable the update check for all workstations, edit the Network\Virtuoso\setup.ini file by adding the following:

[Launch]
noUpdateCheck=Y

If the [Launch] section already exists, add to it (don't create multiple [Launch] sections)

Workstation Configuration

To disable the update check for a given workstation (or to enable the update check even though the check has been disabled globally), edit the Program Files\Trumpet\VirtuosoWorkstation\mirror.ini file by adding the following:

[Launch]
noUpdateCheck=Y

Set the value to N if you wish to enable the update check.

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful

© 2012 Trumpet, Inc., All Rights Reserved