HomeGuides :: Symphony OCRConfiguration Guide - NetDocumentsModified Dates & Modified Users of Documents in NetDocuments

4.8. Modified Dates & Modified Users of Documents in NetDocuments

Symphony OCR version 6.6.22 and higher

Modified Dates:

On a new installation, by default Symphony OCR will preserve the modified date of the document (assuming the "Preserve modified user and date" checkbox has been selected in the NetDocuments Integration Settings page). 

Modified Users:

On a new installation, by default Symphony OCR will preserve the modified user of the document (assuming the "Preserve modified user and date" checkbox has been selected in the NetDocuments Integration Settings page).

Create Version of OCRed Results

There are four options regarding creating new versions of documents in Symphony OCR:

Do not create versions:  Symphony OCR will not create a new version of the OCRed results with the exception of .msg files.  NetDocuments requires that Version 1 of emails not be overwritten.

Create versions for all documents:  Symphony OCR will create a new version of each document as it processes the documents.

Create Versions for PDF files only:  Symphony OCR will create a new version of PDF files (not .tiff files)

Create versions for non-PDF documents only:  Symphony OCR will create versions for .msg files (default behavior) and .tiff files as well. 
Note:  Symphony OCR converts .tiff files to .pdf before processing those.  If you opt to process .tiff files they cannot be converted back to .tiff after processing.

Note:  NetDocuments disallows modifications to version 1 of any MSG document.  Therefore, the first change Symphony makes to an MSG will produce a second version, regardless of which of the above options you select.

Symphony OCR version 6.6.21 and lower

(Update already, why don't 'cha :) )

Modified Dates:

Symphony OCR changed the modified dates of documents.

Symphony OCR exactly preserved all of the original content in a document.  When Symphony OCR adds the invisible layer of text, the underlying file did get modified because non-visual information was added.  This means that the modified date of those documents would have changed to the date that Symphony OCR had processed them.  When processing documents in "real time" this only changed the modified date slightly (by a few minutes / hours).  When processing your legacy store of documents (Symphony OCR treats documents modified more than 7 days ago as 'legacy'), however, it may have significantly changed the modified date.


For example, you may have had an image-only PDF document stored in NetDocuments with the modified date of 6/17/2013.  When Symphony OCR was installed and processesed that document, the modified date was changed to the date the document was processed.  So if it was OCRed on 9/18/2014, the modified date would have shown as 9/18/2014.  


If tracking the original modified date of your legacy store was important, you could have opted to enable versioning of your documents.  When Symphony OCR processesed your documents, it created a new version of the document, ensuring the original modified date stayed intact.  If you opted to have Symphony OCR save the processed document as a new version, the amount of storage you were using will have increase (because there are multiple versions of the same document in your document repository).  To enable versioning of your documents, see:  NetDocuments - Basic Settings. 

Modified User:

Because Symphony OCR actually "changed" the PDF documents (and TIFF documents if you choose to process them) - it added an invisible layer of text to the document - the modified user of those documents will change to the user that Symphony OCR is running as.

Updating to Version 6.6.22:

Upon updating to Version 6.6.22 you will be prompted in the Summary Page that NetDocuments Integration has warnings.  Select "Manage" to see the warnings.

At the top of the screen, you will see the "Issue" presented is as follows:

NetDocuments is currently configured to NOT preserve modified user and date for OCRed documents.  We strongly recommend that you enable the 'Preserved modified user and date' option.  Tip:  You may also want to consider disabling 'Create versions of OCRed results' when you make this change.

To update this, select the 'Preserve modified user and date' checkbox and optionally 'Create versions of OCRed' results (if you wish to do so)

If you prefer NOT to have the Modified User and Dates preserved, you can select the "IGNORE" link which will remove the warning from the NetDocuments Integration Settings and the Summary pages.


This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful

© 2012 Trumpet, Inc., All Rights Reserved