HomeGuide Archives :: Worldox GX3Administration of WorldoxPrevent Users from Deleting Files

31.12. Prevent Users from Deleting Files

Prevent all users from Deleting Files

You may wish to prevent users from deleting files (allowing them only to select the "Move To Salvage Bin" option).  This ensures that you are able to recover documents that may have been inadvertently deleted.

To do so:

  • Select Edit -> Preferences -> Worldox from the main menu to make changes to various settings within Worldox
  • Select the Everyone tab to access settings that will affect all Worldox users
  • Note: The Everyone tab is only available to Power Users
  • Highlight the Category "Copy/ Move/Delete Options"
  • Double click the Allow Non-Salvage Delete option to change the default setting to No if desired
  • Select OK

  • Double click the Allow Delete Shredding option to change the default setting to No if desired

  • Select OK

Prevent some users from Deleting Files

  • Open WDAdmin

  • Go to Security -> Groups

  • Select the 'Features' radio button at the top

  • Scroll (or type) down to File :: Delete and select it

  • The second column will display who has delete permissions

  • Above the second column, click the green 'Person' icon (second from the left, with hover text 'Add User'):

  • Check off the users you want to block, then click the red 'Block' button
  • Save the security changes
  • Have the user log out and back in, then confirm that they no longer can delete files at all
This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful

© 2012 Trumpet, Inc., All Rights Reserved