HomeGuides::Worldox GX4 CloudManipulate DocumentsSave As - Saving Versions of Documents

17.8. Save As - Saving Versions of Documents

Word, Excel & PDF Documents already saved in Worldox

If you are working with Word or Excel documents that you opened from Worldox, you can save new versions of those documents by performing a "Save As" operation after opening the document.

  • From a file saved to Worldox, select "File -> Save As"

  • Select "Save as Version #.  The prior version will be preserved."

  • When saving a new version, you can also add a comment about what's different about that version (e.g., version 2 - updated section referencing which assets should not be traded)

Word, Excel and PDF Document NOT already saved in Worldox

If you are working with a document that should be saved as a new version of a pre-existing file in Worldox (like a signed PDF from DocuSign), then you save your document as a version of a pre-existing file within Worldox.

  • From your file, select "File -> Save As"

  • In the Worldox Save dialog that appears, select the button to "Save as a Version..."

  • Another Worldox window will open and you will then search for the document that you want to save over as version 2. Note, you will not lose the original file, it will just become version 1 (or whatever number is prior to your next version).
  • Double click the desired file and select all of the appropriate fields that you would like to keep/change when you save the new document. If you realize you chose the WRONG file then select "Change" and you can search for another. Otherwise, click OK.
  • You'll return to the Save As dialog where you can click OK to complete the save.


Other Document Types:

For other document types (Powerpoint and others), you must create a version of the document within Worldox before you open it.

  • Highlight the document in the Worldox Search Results Screen.

  • Right click and choose List-> New

  • Select "Yes" in the confirmation dialog.

Note:  There can be up to 256 version of a file.  A file's "current version" is the file as it exists "right now" and is saved in its native format (e.g. as a .docx or .xlsx file). There can only be one current version of a file.  When you save an existing file as a new version, both the current version and the previous version of the file are saved.  However, previous versions are not listed in the main Worldox Search Results window.  Only the current version is shown and the current version is the latest version number.  Therefore, if you have a document that is on Version 3, and you reopen and resave Version 1, while Version 1 may have a modified date of later than Version 3, Version 3 will be the current version.


This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful

© 2012 Trumpet, Inc., All Rights Reserved