HomeGuides::Worldox GX4 CloudDeleted FilesSet Retention Rules for the Salvage Bin

18.2. Set Retention Rules for the Salvage Bin

By default, the Indexer software will purge the documents in the Worldox Salvage Bin after 90 days.  This may not meet your regulatory agencies' (FINRA or SEC) document retention qualifications.  For example, your regulatory agency may require keep certain documents for 6 years after a client has terminated.   If that's the case, you can set retention rules on the Salvage Bin.

  • To add Salvage Bin Retention Rules, select "Salvage > Rules"

  • To add a rule, select "Add Rules"

Set Salvage Retention Rules per Cabinet

You may wish to have a default rule per cabinet.  For example, all documents that have been moved to the Salvage Bin from the Client cabinet should be purged after 6 years.

  • Select the cabinet for which you wish to set the rule

  • If you wish the rule to apply to all clients, categories and document types, place an asterisk in each

  • Under "Defer final purge from salvage" you are presented with three options:

    Select the appropriate time frame from the drop down arrows.  For example, in this example, you may wish to select "Deleted Plus 6 years"

    1. Created plus - this will purge documents from the Salvage Bin based on the date they were created plus the defined time frame
    2. Modified plus - this will purge documents from the Salvage Bin based on the date they were last modified plus the defined time frame
    3. Deleted plus - this will purge the documents from the Salvage Bin based on the date they were deleted (i.e., moved to the Salvage Bin) plus the defined time frame

  • Select OK to complete the rule

Set Salvage Retention Rules per Field

You can also set the salvage retention rules per applicable field in Worldox.  For example, while you may wish to purge all client documents that have been moved to the Salvage Bin after 6 years, you may wish to purge others, like client agreements less frequently.  In this example, perhaps you wish to delete documents from the Salvage Bin after they have a modified date of greater than 12 years.

  • Select the cabinet in which you wish to apply the rule

  • Select the appropriate Category / Document Type combination

  • Under "Defer final purge from salvage" you are presented with three options:

    Select the appropriate time frame from the drop down arrows.  For example, in this example, you may wish to select "Deleted Plus 10 years"

    1. Created plus - this will purge documents from the Salvage Bin based on the date they were created plus the defined time frame
    2. Modified plus - this will purge documents from the Salvage Bin based on the date they were last modified plus the defined time frame
    3. Deleted plus - this will purge the documents from the Salvage Bin based on the date they were deleted (i.e., moved to the Salvage Bin) plus the defined time frame

  • Select "OK"


This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful

© 2012 Trumpet, Inc., All Rights Reserved