HomeGuides :: Symphony OCRFAQsIf retention is set, what is the status of the working copy kept on the server/workstation?

18.26. If retention is set, what is the status of the working copy kept on the server/workstation?

The document retention setting controls a short term backup that we can keep on the local disks on the Symphony machine, just in case something goes horribly wrong.  This functionality was added to the original Symphony application 15 years ago as a belt-and-suspenders just-in-case feature.  We've actually never had to use this backup, and there are better ways to restore original documents, so very few of our sites bother to use it anymore.

Firms that want to be able to recover the original document (prior to OCR) generally use two strategies:

  1. They rely on Symphony's "Rollback" capability — here's a knowledgebook that describes this capability:  https://support.trumpetinc.com/index.php?pg=kb.page&id=1824  — what's cool about Rollback, is that you get the same functionality as if you retained a completely separate copy of the original document — but without having to store the second copy or increasing storage.
  2. They turn on 'Create versions' — see 'Create Versions of OCR results' in  https://support.trumpetinc.com/index.php?pg=kb.page&id=1378   — this approach does literally make an extra copy of the original (saving as version 1), then saves the OCR results back into the DMS as version 2.  This will obviously double the storage space of any document that is OCRed.


This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful

© 2012 Trumpet, Inc., All Rights Reserved