HomeTraining Manual Archives-Worldox GX4:: Professional - AdministratorDeleted DocumentsSalvage Bin - Deleted Documents

6.1. Salvage Bin - Deleted Documents

Introduction to Document Repositories

Worldox maintains different document repositories for the documents that you file.  Here is a list of the repositories and what they contain:

  • Active - This repository is the default repository.  When you complete a profile card to save a document into Worldox, that document is automatically stored in the Active Repository.
  • Archive - You may wish to move documents to an Archive after they have been in your system for a long period of time.  This will ensure that they do not appear in your normal search results List, but are still accessible by searching that specific repository.
  • Legal Hold - This is a "read-only" repository.  Moving documents to this repository allows you to ensure that users are not able to edit the files in this repository, but can still view them.
  • Salvage - When you move documents to the Salvage Bin, they appear in this repository for a period of ninety days (by default this is configurable).  This is similar to the Windows Recycle Bin.  From here you can restore documents you have inadvertently sent to the Salvage Bin within the ninety day period.  After ninety days, the document is permanently deleted.

You can search the various repositories by selecting the "Search What" button in the search card:

and by selecting the appropriate repository:

Note:  We will discuss the other repositories in subsequent sessions.  For today's session we will focus on the Salvage Repository.  This is

Introduction to the Salvage Bin

By default, when you save documents to Worldox, you are saving them to an "active" document repository.  Worldox has other repositories, one of which is the "Salvage Bin".  The Salvage Bin is similar to the Windows Recycle Bin.

Just as in the Windows Recycle Bin, you cannot manipulate documents when they are in the Salvage Bin repository, but you can restore them to the active repository.  The Salvage Bin repository is searchable as well.

The main difference between the Windows Recycle Bin and the Worldox Salvage Bin is that, by default, documents are purged from this repository after they have been in it for 90 days.  After 90 days, the documents are not recoverable.  For regulatory purposes, you may wish to utilize Salvage Bin Retention Rules to ensure that documents are retained for the requisite amount of time.  Should you wish to change the 90-day default purge default, please email support@trumpetinc.com.

Your firm's Compliance Officer has been provided documentation on both SEC and FINRA requirements for electronic record keeping.  Here is this document for further reference:  http://www.trumpetinc.com/Downloads/dms/compliancefinra.PDF

Trumpet is not legal counsel, so it is ultimately up to you to abide by and conform with regulatory agencies that the process you establish adequately meets their standards.

Search for Documents in the Salvage Bin

The Salvage Bin repository is located on your file server within the Active Document Repository.

To search for documents that have been moved to the Salvage Bin:

  • Open a Search Card

  • Select "Search What"

  • Select the "Salvage Bin" radio button

  • Select "OK"

  • Fill in any additional search criteria in the search card and select "Search"

Move Documents from the Salvage Bin to the Active Repository

To move a document from the Salvage Bin Repository to the active Worldox Repository:

  • Perform a search in the Salvage Bin for the document you wish to restore to the Active Worldox Repository (refer to the article, Search for Documents in the Salvage Bin for detailed instructions on this step)

  • Double-click on the document

  • Select "Yes" to un-delete the file

  • The document will be placed back in its original location

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful

© 2012 Trumpet, Inc., All Rights Reserved